The Brand New Hopefuls

Kan Lume, co-director of Solos
While Solos may only be his second feature (and his latest collaboration with Loo Zihan), Kan’s certainly done his time, cutting his directorial teeth. Having directed programs for Channel 5, Channel 8 and Arts Central, he’s also helmed a whopping 10 short films in the last three years alone. His first movie The Art of Flirting earned him the title of Best ASEAN Feature at the Malaysian Video Awards, and he’s also picked up accolades such as the top prize at the Take 5! Guerrilla Film Making Challenge 2005 with the Singapore History Museum, the Best of Show at Canon DV Fest 2005 and Judges’ Choice Award for Fly-By-Night 2004.
Loo Zihan, co-director of Solos
He may still be studying for his BFA at Nanyang Technological University’s School of Art, Design and Media, but Loo definitely isn’t a newbie to filmmaking. In 2005 alone, he directed three shorts and edited two. That very same year, his last collaboration with Kan Lume, Untitled, took home the second prize at the Soul to Soul Festival. He’s also worked on two parts of the Dance Trilogy, part of the Video Art Installation, Decay.
Boo Junfeng, director of The Changi Murals
Boo’s star has been rising from the very get-go. His first short film Un Retrato de Familia (A Family Portrait) earned him Silver Screen Awards for Best Film and Special Achievement at the 18th Singapore International Film Festival. Graduating as the top student from Ngee Ann Polytechnic cohort, Boo went on to be selected as one of the esteemed 20 Asian participants to attend the inaugural session of the Asian Film Academy in Korea.
Khee Jin Ng, director of Feet Unbound
A successful former advertising man, this is Khee’s directorial debut. Spurred by his fascination of The Long March in China, he independently began developing Feet Unbound in 2001 and continued to produce and film this documentary between 2004 and 2005. It made its world premier at the 19th International Documentary Film Festival Amsterdam and was selected for the festival’s Joris Ivens Competition.